Media Releases

Tuesday, May 27, 2014

New directors named to Tourism Whistler Board

Tourism Whistler media release
For immediate release - May 27, 2014

New directors named to Tourism Whistler Board

Whistler, B.C. – Tourism Whistler’s Board of Directors welcomed new members following the Annual General Meeting and Election of Directors on May 22.

The following board positions were up for election this year:
• Multi-Managed Lodging – Village
• Multi-Managed Lodging – Other
• Single-Managed Lodging – Large
• Director at Large

In the category of Multi-managed Lodging – Village, the candidates were incumbent Jim Allard, of the Tantalus Lodge, and Lloyd Daser, General Manager of the Whistler Pan Pacific properties. In this category, Allard was the successful candidate. The director position in this category represents owners on Resort Land where less than 85% of the units within the property, that is located in the Village, are managed by a single management company.

In the category of Multi-managed Lodging – Other, the candidates were Dale Bickenbach, Marcel Da Silva and Ian Lowe, General Manager of the Crystal Lodge and Suites, with Lowe elected. This director position represents owners on Resort Land where less than 85% of the units within the property, that is located outside the Village and/or Benchlands, are managed by a single management company. The outgoing director in this category is Roger Soane.

In the category of Director of Large, the candidates were Kirby Brown, CEO of The Adventure Group, Tony Cary-Barnard (incumbent), General Manager of the Westin Resort & Spa, Whistler, Stein Gudmundseth, Neil Henderson, Managing Director of Araxi and Roger Soane, President & CEO of Whistler Sport Legacies. In this category, Cary-Barnard was the successful candidate. The Director at Large is intended to represent all Tourism Whistler Members in good standing and, as such, all Members in good standing receive one vote for this position.

Norm Mastalir, Managing Director of the Fairmont Chateau Whistler, as the only candidate in the category of Single Managed Lodging – Large, was elected to that position by acclamation. This director position represents owners on Resort Land where 90 per cent of the units within the property, that comprises more than 500 assessment units, are managed by a single management company. This includes most branded hotels as well as all of the single-owned hotels.

Tourism Whistler’s Board Chair, Saad Hasan, thanked all candidates for their involvement in the election process. “I would like to extend my gratitude to each of the candidates who put their name forward for election, and congratulate those successful candidates” said Hasan. “I would also like to sincerely thank Roger Soane, who has served as a director and, for several years, as chair, and has provided valuable leadership over the many years of his service on the Tourism Whistler Board of Directors.”

Tourism Whistler is governed by a 12-member Board of Directors – five appointed and seven elected. Elected director positions include Commercial, Single-Managed Lodging – Large, Single-Managed Lodging – Small, Multi-Managed Lodging – Village, Multi-Managed Lodging – Benchlands, Multi-Managed Lodging – Other and Director-At-Large. Appointed director positions include two representatives from the Resort Municipality of Whistler, two representatives from Whistler Blackcomb and the President & CEO of Tourism Whistler. Board nominees do not have to be members of Tourism Whistler; however they must be nominated by at least two members in good standing. All elected directors serve a two-year term. The term served by the appointed directors is determined by the organizations they represent.

The current Tourism Whistler Board of Directors:

Single-Managed Lodging – Small:   
Saad Hasan (Chair)
Single-Managed Lodging – Large:   
Norm Mastalir
Multi-Managed Lodging – Benchlands:   
Sue Chappel
Multi-Managed Lodging – Village:   
Jim Allard
Multi-Managed Lodging – Other:  
Ian Lowe
Tony Cary-Barnard
Duane Hepditch

Whistler Blackcomb:
David Brownlie
Stuart Rempel
Resort Municipality of Whistler:
Roger McCarthy
Mike Furey
Tourism Whistler President & CEO:
Barrett Fisher


Whistler is Canada's premier year-round leisure and meeting destination located in the Coast Mountains 120 kilometres (75 miles) north of Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada. Consistently rated the top ski resort in North America, Whistler was the Host Mountain Resort of the 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games. The resort offers an extensive range of accommodations totaling 10,000 bedrooms among 24 hotels as well as townhomes, condos, B&Bs and chalets. Whistler also boasts more than 100 restaurants and bars, 200 retail shops, 25 spas and countless activity options from world-renowned skiing and snowboarding, mountain biking and golf, to hiking, rock climbing, and watersports. The Resort Municipality of Whistler is home to a diverse community of more than 10,000 permanent residents.

Tourism Whistler is the member-based marketing and sales organization representing Whistler, operating the Whistler Conference Centre, Whistler Golf Club, Whistler Visitor Centre, as well as 1.800.WHISTLER and - Whistler's official source for visitor bookings and information. As the convention and visitors bureau for the Resort Municipality of Whistler, Tourism Whistler represents more than 7,000 members who own, manage and operate properties or businesses on resort lands including hotels, restaurants, activity operators and retail shops.

Broadcasters: Whistler now has the capability to take you live with our enhanced fibre network. The significantly expanded network of more than 200 kilometres of fibre optic cabling throughout the resort allows instant transmission of HD signals to any location at any time. Details on how to access, and book the fibre are available on our media site.

Media can visit for Whistler facts, media releases, story starters, local personality profiles and access to images and B-roll.

Media Contact

Patricia Westerholm
Manager, Communications
T: 604.938.2748